The Invasion of the Tearling -Erika Johansen

invasion.jpg

None of us escape,

None of us is clean.

It took me a while to get in to this book. There are still a lot of unanswered questions that I hope are answered in the third and final book.

The themes in this book are not for the faint. There is much rape and a lot of spousal abuse. I was happy to get more answers about what the sapphires are and what they do. I was also happy to see Kelsea come in to her own and manage truly rule her kingdom. Though there were things that I didn’t agree with (the flaying of a man with her mind powers for one), I tend to side with Mace on most issues, she’s still a bad ass.

For the longest time I was confused about the Lily Mayhew segments, but I found myself enjoying those the most. With their fast paced dialogue and just the intrigue to what happened with our society to make it go so wrong. She lives in a society where wives are never seen in public without their husbands and everyone is “tagged”. So “Security” can track your every move. I hope she goes a little more in to what happened to make that society so corrupt. But I would be happy with more backstory on how the Tear came to be.

Another bit I enjoyed was the fact that they FINALLY tell you what the hell the Tear is! The thing that really peeved me was that it was staring me right in the face and I didn’t see it!

We have to wait until November for the conclusion of the trilogy, I hope it’s a good one. I just want answers. There’s a lot of lead up for this book and I hope the last book delivers.

About operation100books

Hi, my name's Emily and I'm starting the 100 book challenge. 100 books. 12 months. Can I do it? Update: Needless to say I did not finish the 100 book challenge. I'm still at it though and have strayed from The List entirely; but never say never. I will finish The List...some day. View all posts by operation100books

Leave a Reply

